View Full Version : Mitchell Neptune Info

Don M
06-14-2001, 07:09 AM
Has anyone used the Mitchell Neptune reel? Would like to know about the drag and overall performance of the reel. Your comments would be much appriciated.
Thanks

Slipknot
06-14-2001, 07:14 AM
After reading many thumbs up reviews about them, I now own one and it is a great reel. The drag on mine so far is very smooth. I think they are well worth the money. And I like the 7500 size,it holds 300 yards of whiplash 65 lb.

Patrick
06-14-2001, 08:28 AM
It's on my list to buy. They look like beautiful reels.

JPowers
06-14-2001, 09:29 AM
I've been using the Neptune for two years now. I wouldn't leave home without it. Drag is smooth as silk. It's definately waterproof. People complain about the weight but I throw 4oz jigs with that thing for up to four/five hours some days with no problem ( and I'm not a big guy). Check out that line roller - it'll wrap braided line perfectly, everytime. You'll get used to that big handle also. If ya get into a large fish you'll be glad it's there.

I've recommended the Neptune to four other guys and they have no complaints, in fact they also love them.

Final tribute : The Neptune is the reel I've been looking for most of my life - been fishing for over forty years. I'll be picking up the smaller models the day they become available.

You'll even finally like the color - it'll grow on ya.

Patrick
06-14-2001, 10:56 AM
While we are on the subject of Neptune and braids. Would it be possible to use say, 50 or 30 lb braid on it? Of course it would hold more than the 65lb test but I would make up that distance with backing.(with that test and capacity) I would go with 25lb or 30lb backing) Reason being, I'm not too comfortable using 65lb test line. That's really strong line. Most of my fish aren't too big.

So will it dig into itself with a lighter line?

jettyjockey18
06-14-2001, 11:47 AM