View Full Version : Will this setup work??

PROKHAOS
08-08-2001, 11:38 AM
I have a 10' pole with 25lb test yellow bright line on it. I use a metal black 18" leader, and a 15" clear leader with hook on that. So theres a grand total of 35" from my weight to the hook. Is this ok for saltwater fishing from shore? The waters are deep in spots, and swallow in others. I was thinking this would be a good setup for the deeper parts. The weight is connected to a fish finder, so it's sliding.....I tried this only because I have tried just using the clear leader with 24" in between the weight and hook, and it doesn't work well. I have the metal black leader on there only to make it easy to switch from luries to live bait,etc.... Please reply. I'm new to saltwater fishing... *( As you might be able to tell from this post )* Any and all feedback would be great! THANKS ahead of time :)

Kev

ragfly
08-08-2001, 11:47 AM
1) do away with the metal leader unless Blues are in the area.
2) Bright yellow line? If it is Stren throw it in the trash and go out and get some good line, like Trilene big game.
3) For your leader use fluorocarbon material. 20 or 30lb depending on the fish. 3 or 4ft of leader will be fine.
4) if you are using the slide rig for you sinker make sure you put a plastic bead above it on the rod side of the rig. This is to protect your top eyelit on your rod. Make sure the bead is big enough so it will not go through the eyelit

PROKHAOS
08-08-2001, 02:37 PM
Thanks for the advice. I went out, and picked up some clear 20lb Trilene test line. Also added the stopper for the slider weight.

Not sure if this line is Trilene Big Game.
Or is all Trilene line big game too?

Kev

Got Stripers
08-08-2001, 03:10 PM
Trilene XL will generally not be suitable for shore fishing, because it's not abrasion resistant enough. Trilene XT would be, but I would also recommend Big Game for most saltwater applications and the package should specify what type of Trilene line it is.