View Full Version : football tuna, bones and false-albies

Iwannakeeper
07-16-2004, 04:17 AM
Well all, I am new to fishing, but one of my goals is aside from big stripers, big blues and even some doormat flukes that I am beginning to target. one of my biggest goals is to hook onto a freight train from the surf.

I was going to head down to RI and try to see if I could get anything from shore.....figured, since I have never fished RI waters, I could maybe even hit some blues and stripers.

Maybe RI will change my luck and get me my keepa'

Or if the MA waters are also getting them, that would be ok too.

I know it is awfully early for them this far North. But I want to start getting ready and buying the correct tackle for them.

I also think this is a very interesting topic and I assume there are some people like me that want to know some of the basics behind these oh-so-elusive fish.

1. What is a recommended setup for Rod/Reel? I really want to know what is the lightest setup someone would recommend. "I think we are going to need a bigger boat." But in all seriousness, I think I might need a bigger outfit. I have a Penn 5500SS on a 10 ft heavy action rod. I also have a abu 6500TCST on a 7 ft med-heavy rod. Both of these setups are currently holding 17 - 20 lb Mono, so capacity is not maxed out with braid. I can load up a ton of braid on the Penn. I am new to conventional, so I am not ready to put braid on my conventional outfit yet.

2. Terminal tackle. What do you guys recommend for leaders? Shock leader, big floro carbon, wire leader, etc. then lengths and stuff.

3. I obviously do not want anyone to burn spots - while I would happily take them via PM ;) :D. But some broad type recommendations would be great - outer cape beaches, RI breachways or jetty's, etc.

4. what do you recommend for lures/bait?

5. I would imagine these guys like a fast retrieve as well?

I hope this is a lengthy and interesting thread for everyone. Maybe even make it FAQ/how-to thread.