View Full Version : A popper question

steelhead
07-16-2004, 09:31 AM
I'm fairly new to all of this and for the most part have lurked in the site, trying to learn as much as I can from all of you guys. I have a question that I've been trying to figure out and I need some help. Not even sure that this is the right board, but here goes. I have noticed that with SW poppers the attitude of the popper at rest in the water varies quite a bit from plug style to plug style. There are some that I have that sit in the water nose up, some that sit level and some that actually sink nose down(very slowly). I have decided that each one is probably more suited (or limited) to partiulcar presentation techniques. I'm not sure what these techiques are yet, but I find it intriguing. And fun experimenting with them. For example, I have some made some small pencil poppers that sink very slowly, yet when retrieved skim and twitch and dart (with some help from the rod tip) across the water quite nicely, but that seems to be about it. I have made a few small Polaris style poppers that sit tail down and when retrieved can be made to do all sorts of interesting things from chug, pop out of the water, dart side to side, etc. Do different style poppers work better based on how they are weighted? Are different poppers more suited for particular wayds of being fished? And in differnt kinds of water?

RI Popper
07-16-2004, 07:55 PM
Hello Steelhead,

Some very interesting observations and questions. Last year I did several seminars on popper fishing.

To answer your first question Yes different popper styles work better weighted than others and also where they are weighted. For a large mouthed popper (ie. polaris) you want the popper to sit with the tail below the water to capture greater amounts of water when pulled. The more slender and small mouthed poppers work better with less of an angle in the water. It's about how much water you want the lure to grab when pulled.