View Full Version : Belly Weight Question

The Dad Fisherman
12-04-2004, 04:43 PM
Do you guys Seal your plugs 1st before you put in the weights and wood filler or after?

Just starting some swimmer blanks I got from NJtackle and want to know whats the best way.

thanx

spence
12-04-2004, 04:51 PM
I'd weight them before I sealed them...but I'm a rookie also :smash:

-spence

capesams
12-04-2004, 05:16 PM
seal first..then lead..then poxy...DON"T USE WOOD FILLER.

Jigman
12-04-2004, 05:51 PM
What CS said. Always drill any holes (wire, weights, swivel, eye) before you seal the plug. If you drill afterwards you'll give water a place to enter the plug.

Jigman

justplugit
12-04-2004, 05:55 PM
Welcome back from the dig, Jigman:btu:

spence
12-04-2004, 06:08 PM
So do you guys just fill the hole with epoxy and smooth it out :confused:

-spence

BigFish
12-04-2004, 06:11 PM
Thru-drill...turn...drill all eyes, swivel holes and weight holes, insert weight, fill with minwax wood filler (Stuff dries fast and does not shrink later on....sand it smooth and you can't even tell there is a hole at all)...then I seal!;)

Everyone does some things different!:D

Slipknot
12-04-2004, 06:40 PM
Originally posted by spence
So do you guys just fill the hole with epoxy and smooth it out :confused:

-spence

capesams says don't use wood filler but that all depends on how long you expect the plug to hold up with use, after catching lots of fish, the hook marks usually trash the plug more than any defect that might be caused if wood filler failed. Yes, you can take some epoxy and thicken it with fine wood dust and smooth holes over that way. either that or pour the lead in and sand smooth. There are many ways to skin a cat. Experiment and find the way that works for you, but as stated,, Always drill all holes before sealing the wood.

Nebe
12-04-2004, 10:59 PM