View Full Version : dog woes

Mr. Sandman
12-12-2004, 12:54 PM
I just ordered an electric training collar from cabelas. My dog generally is pretty good but when she gets worked up or a wif of something....she bolts full throttle! And there is little you can do to get here attn. It happenend again yesterday and she came back covered in several different species of animal crap. I am hoping the reality of a large static charge will do get her attn or kill her...one or the other.

Have any of you guys used one of these things?

reelecstasy
12-12-2004, 01:05 PM
SM, I have used one and own a few and have used them with with some sucess, I have been a dog trainer on the side for the better of 10 yrs now. I prefer using cinch collar (choker) and have had great success. I do like the remote training collars as well and most have variable intensity settings on them ..I am sure the collar will come with some type of handout. But just start out with as low as a setting possible and increase to it has an effect. It is nice having the ability to enforce a command from a distance ,I just find it unrealistic to expect a dog to obey a command if they aren't dead on balls perfect on a leash..But,who says I know anything?? like I said, I prefer training a dog on a 6' leather leash and a fine linked chain choker..
Hey, I think that was one of my first posts that actually had any type of real information...not bad 387 posts later :smash: :smash: :smash: :smash:

Mr. Sandman
12-12-2004, 01:38 PM
I use a choker (one with the claws that dig in when yanked)