View Full Version : What kind of tip ups to start ice fishing?

Jamie M
01-31-2005, 12:57 PM
I'd like to try ice fishing. There's a lake only 3 miles from my house that has TONS of yellow perch, which I understand are pretty good table fare. I was on ebay last night looking at tip-ups, and as I feared, there were about 85 different kinds. Prices ranged from about $5 each to about $30 each.

Any features that I definitely need (or don't need) in my tip-ups? I'm only looking to go a couple of times each season, probably limited to perch fishing at the lake near my house. So I don't need anything super heavy-duty.

Thanks,

Jamie

Ed B
01-31-2005, 01:54 PM
The cheap ones are fine for perch, and most of your typical pickerel, bass, trout. I have been using the same wooden cheapos for thirty years. No extra features necessary. I'd get a little jig stick too.

If you have any big pike or if the stock any big breeder trout or salmon around then you need the good ones.

chris L
01-31-2005, 02:14 PM
I use the cheap ones too and have never had a problem . definately get a jigging rod it helps to have something to do besides cook , eat and watch tip ups . I have a stout and a light one . and pilsner is my favorite just in front of bock .

Saltheart
01-31-2005, 02:38 PM
Cheaper the better. Even railroad salvage types would work.

Van
01-31-2005, 02:45 PM
I use the polar tip ups, yes more $, but they have grease filled tubes that dont freeze up, and 2 sensitivity positions for the release.

Flaptail
01-31-2005, 03:03 PM