View Full Version : PETA attacks a college fishing club!?

KJLane
03-08-2005, 05:33 PM
Hey all,

I am a graduate of Bates College, Lewiston ME, class of 2003. As a sophmore at Bates, I founded a fishing club. My organization was formed with the intent to provide a social venue for students with a comment interest in fishing. We sposored a variety of trips to local areas off the Maine coast and to Cape Cod.

Yesterday, I was informed that my club has come under attack from PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals.) The following story was published by the associated press but the story has been featured in a number of Maine papers and WBZ News Radio Boston.

When does PETA go too far? I completely respect the opinion of others but for whatever reason I believe there may be other causes to pursue then the discontinuation of a fishing club at a small liberal arts school.

>
> Bates alum calls for end of student fishing club
>
> LEWISTON - A Bates College alumnus who says it is inhumane to catch
fish
> has asked his alma mater to get rid of a student fishing club.
>
> In a letter to the president of the private liberal arts college, J.
> Coulter Leslie cited recent studies on fish sensitivity in branding
> recreational fishing a cruel activity that the school should not
> tolerate.
>
> "Bates College would never sponsor a club that impales dogs or cats
with
> hooks through their mouths," Leslie wrote, "but treating fish this way
> is no better."
>
> Leslie is an outreach coordinator with People for the Ethical
Treatment
> of Animals, a Virginia-based animal rights group which has launched a
> campaign called the Fish Empathy Project.
>
> Leslie, who graduated from Bates in 1994, said evidence that fish are
> sensitive to the injuries inflicted on them should be enough to compel
> Bates officials to shut down the fishing club.
>
> Bates senior Chester Clem, the president of the fishing club, said he