View Full Version : Eel Skin Details

Rock Hopper
04-23-2005, 09:16 PM
Need a little info... Although I rig plenty of dead, whole eels, I am somewhat new to doing eel skins on my own.

I have gotten the cut and peel away thing down...my questions are these:

- Is there a fairly easy way of getting the reversed skin unreversed?

-Does it matter if there is a small hole at the very end of the tail of the eel. If so, how does it affect the action?

-Is a double hook set up better or worse and if it is worse, why?

Thanks,

Kadir

Diamond Tackle
04-23-2005, 09:29 PM
[QUOTE=Rock Hopper]Need a little info... Although I rig plenty of dead, whole eels, I am somewhat new to doing eel skins on my own.

I have gotten the cut and peel away thing down...my questions are these:

- Is there a fairly easy way of getting the reversed skin unreversed?

Flush water thru it it should reverse with no problem, you ever make sausages? its like sausage casings.

-Does it matter if there is a small hole at the very end of the tail of the eel. If so, how does it affect the action?

You want the hole, thats where the water will flow through.

-Is a double hook set up better or worse and if it is worse, why?

Depends on how long an skin you want to tie I guess, some prefer stiff mono leader material tied to the jig, which will then stay inside the skin, and will keep the tail from wrapping up on itself

Rock Hopper
04-23-2005, 09:43 PM
Tinman,

Thanks a bunch....I thought about flushing water but wasn't 100% certain.

I did some up last night....can't wait to give'em a go...

Kadir

pbadad
04-23-2005, 10:04 PM