View Full Version : Otis

JohnR
08-26-2005, 04:17 PM
Once you go BRAC....

Looks like the swan song for Otis and the Eagles. In what seems to be an ill-advised move and barring something unforseen, the Eagles are going to Jersey. The primary air defense / intercept base for the North East in recent memory is going. The defensive ring has been reduced by two hundred or so miles and the response time 30 minutes. I am far from an expert but this seems ill advised for both Boston and New York....

I will also miss the rare zoom climb to 5k feet and I will miss the sound of freedom when wetting a line on Wasque. I truly hope we don't miss the extra security in the north east provided by those few planes...

basswipe
08-26-2005, 05:36 PM
What a shame.

Now the entire NE is left without an airbase.

thefishingfreak
08-26-2005, 06:16 PM
hanscom air force base.
probly 3 minute scrable to boston.
love seeing those things every so often.

huge field accross the way seems like the holding pattern for any events in boston. world series ,july 4'th flyovers etc... we get about 7-8 circles overhead before they split to do the one flyover downtown. love that sound!!

Nebe
08-26-2005, 06:35 PM
doesnt make sense to me... but then agian not much going on in DC makes much sense to me..

how about that pat robertson :wall:

JohnR
08-26-2005, 07:01 PM
hanscom air force base.
probly 3 minute scrable to boston.
love seeing those things every so often.

huge field accross the way seems like the holding pattern for any events in boston. world series ,july 4'th flyovers etc... we get about 7-8 circles overhead before they split to do the one flyover downtown. love that sound!!

Hanscom does not have any figher jets permanently assigned, nothing on alert but a couple of cessnas :hihi:

Mike P
08-26-2005, 07:45 PM
Funny, on 9/11, the 15s from Otis damn near beat the 16s from McGuire to the area of the WTC.

BigFish
08-26-2005, 07:47 PM
Our government....what a bunch of brain surgeons! :tm: