View Full Version : compressor/nail gun/stapler questions

Diggin Jiggin
11-10-2005, 09:11 AM
I have a couple of questions for you carpentry guys.

I need to re-shingle the south side of my house, and I would like to buy a compressor and nail gun to use to re-side the house. The house has cedar shingles.

I was at HD's looking at compressors and they have a 6 gallon porter cable pancake that goes to 135 psi. the compressor is 179. I know it will be loud but it fits the budget.

I can also get it packaged with 3 nail guns, one of which is a 1" narrow crown stapler for 279. Is the 1" narrow crown stapler what I need to hang shingles ? If not what gun/stapler do I need and what are its psi requirements ?

Thanks, and once I get the compressor, you know the airbrush questions will be right around the corner.. :drool:

spence
11-10-2005, 09:34 AM
While I'm not a professional, I've always used a coil gun and 2" stainless ring-shank siding nails.

Got the PC Pancake compressor as well, works like a champ.

-spence

ProfessorM
11-10-2005, 10:42 AM
Make sure the pressure is not to high or you will blow the nails, staples thru the shingles and they will be loose like the moron that did my addition. I had to rip off a crap load and replace. I prefer a hammer and galv.nail. Paul

capesams
11-10-2005, 05:17 PM
any compressor that goes to 65 lbs will work,,,but stay away from any that are oilless,,they seem to die an early death....1/2 crown staple's// sst staples,,1 1/4" long,,I say stainless because the galv. ones Will bleed and leave black streaks down your shingle's , plus these to will die[rust away] before your shingles are ready to give up.....check e-bay for stapler's[gun] if your only going to do your house or a small job. save yourself some $$.

MAC
11-10-2005, 05:48 PM