View Full Version : Need Mussel Recipes

zacs
01-20-2006, 02:50 PM
As some of you may know, i am a fishmonger by trade. I am doing a presentation with some customers next week, and I need some real good mussel recipies. I have searched the web, consulted my recipe books, but the best recipies always seem to be personal reccomendations.

Thanks for you help

Zac

Saltheart
01-20-2006, 02:57 PM
http://web.foodnetwork.com/food/web/searchResults?searchString=mussels&site=FOOD&searchType=Recipe

233 recipes there

choggieman
01-20-2006, 03:08 PM
saute onions and gahlic in olive oil until tender, dump in 1 cup white wine and reduce by half, the add jar of your favorite marinara and cook for 10 mins. Toss in mussells and gently cook till mussles open. Optional few red pepper flakes or even some fresh fennel sauteed with the onions.

Krispy
01-20-2006, 03:09 PM
Zacs, any recomendations on where to gather mussels? :drool:

zacs
01-20-2006, 03:15 PM
Sorry krispy, i just sell 'em.

Saltheart, believe me, I have searched everywhere. I need some personal advice from my friends. I would trust a recipe you gave me far more than one i just randomly pulled off the web.

Zac

cheferson
01-20-2006, 03:29 PM
My favorite is to steam them with some w.wine, garlic, basil leaves, dice tomatoe, then dip them in melted butter that was melted w/shredded basil in it. :cheers: Mussels brittany is killer too- par-cook them in some w.wine/garlic till they open, quickly cool. Take some softened butter , chopped parley, little lemon juice, chopped garlic, s+p and toss in food processer until mixed. Halve the mussels and fill the shell w/the butter mixture (mussel on bottom) and top w/japanimation crumbs (mix a lil melted butter s+p w/crumbs prior) then broil or cook in oven at 350 till brown. Mussels steamed in coconut milk, ginger, cilantro and either red or green thai curry is also good.

Nebe
01-20-2006, 03:35 PM
Zacs, any recomendations on where to gather mussels? :drool:

you serious???