View Full Version : Need help, Don't know where to fish!!!!!!!!!!

maine/rifisherman
04-11-2002, 01:27 AM
I'm new to RI and it would help me alot if someone could suggest a good place in or near warwick to surfcast. And if anyone would like to join me i work nights and get out at 7am. I don't know alot of people and i know even less fishermen.
Feel free to suggest anything you want like good bait or anything else and hope to see people around. :) :cool:

redcrbbr
04-11-2002, 01:55 AM
welcome to S-B:D , i'd say figure in a month or less the entire coast is gonna start to light up. just pay attention to the posts and you will hear of probably the best and hottest spots to go. being in rhode island there really aren't many bad places.. but there are some dangerous places.. there isn't a fish out there worth dying for! trust and use your instincts:D :D

JohnR
04-11-2002, 08:17 AM
Maine/RI - welcome to S-B... I moved this topic to the main forum so more people could bite on it... Warwick doesn't offer as much of the true surfcasting that you may be used to in Maine. Althugh there is plenty of it not far away...

Couple Warwick spots: Conimicut Point is popular with a lot of the locals but I'm not convinced that it is as great as people say it is. There is a reef running out to the light that kills people every other year from swift current to be REALLY carefull of. Not a Maine river fast but certainly fast enough.

Goddard Park in Warwick has a couple places to fish, matter of fact, this month's or last month's On The Water magazine had some good info for fishing around E Greenwich Bay...

Oakland Beach, some people fish the jetties & open beach there with some success... Personally, I don't because I'm not too much into chunking and I'd rather drive 40 minutes to what I think are more productive spots - and there are plenty of good spots in Rhody....

There are a handfull of other local spots but you need the secret password first ;) - Again, welcome aboard!