View Full Version : Food for thought

Labrador1
04-08-2006, 02:01 PM
I have been thinking a lot about safety issues lately - between fumes, chemicals, wood dust, machines etc. plug building can have its dangers. One change I recently made and thought I would throw it out there for others to consider, is that I stopped using lead for weights. I started thinking about the fact that I have two little girls at home - and they occasionally visit the shop - or that I might have lead on my hands or clothes when I go home at the end of the day - and decided to find alternatives. I'm not an expert with respect to molds etc - but there are a number of products that can be melted and poured without the health risks of lead. I have a guy who pours mine for me - and I'm not exactly sure what the stuff is, but basically it weighs aprox 2/3 what lead does. Seemed to me like a pretty small trade off - No more fear of toxic dust or fumes around my kids or myself - and all that I had to do was drill a slightly larger hole for my weights. Just thought I'd pass that along.

Ryan

Backbeach Jake
04-08-2006, 04:36 PM
You're correct, Ryan. It would be a tragedy if our fun hobby wound up hurting us or someone we love. It's best to be aware of our materials' hazards. We've discussed the Minwax WoodHardener and it's effects. As well as Paint fumes. ( BOTH waterbased latex acrylics and hydrocarbon based spray cans. Be informed and be safe. Thanks for bringing this Safety subject up again Ryan, we can't consider it enough.

BigFish
04-09-2006, 07:47 AM
Is it bismuth tin Ryan? (Spelling may be incorrect):)

Labrador1
04-09-2006, 11:59 AM
Larry - there are a number of different options. I think the major component in what i use is tin - but there are some with silver, bismuth etc. Just seemed like a pretty simple way for me to use one less toxic substance.

BigFish
04-09-2006, 01:57 PM
I hear you there...been thinking about that myself lately.

Diamond Tackle
04-09-2006, 03:26 PM
Ryan,