View Full Version : new to striper

striper addict
04-23-2006, 02:37 PM
ive been fishing salt water and brakish water for 2 years, i seem to catch everything butt... caught 1 keeper out of sheer luck... any one have advice for a new and inexperianced angler...

ScottC
04-23-2006, 02:42 PM
How are you fishing? Do you have a boat? Lay out what you are using from rod and reel, lure or bait and what type of geography you have access to.

striper addict
04-23-2006, 02:59 PM
been fishing in thames alot mostly chunk bait or sandworm and a low budget wal mart shkspr rod with rhino spinning reel

striper addict
04-23-2006, 03:12 PM
no boat but will go where i must in search of big striper!!!!!!

Raven
04-23-2006, 03:21 PM
for the most part eh?

Raven
04-23-2006, 03:23 PM
welcome to striped- bass .com

tynan19
04-23-2006, 04:02 PM
Welcome aboard. Don't get discouraged as it will take a lot of time and effort to consistantly catch good fish. Your equipment will grow with your skill level. For now worry about finding fish. Look for structure such as rocks, grass beds, outflows, sand bars and current. If you really want to catch the bigger fish, you will need to put in the time. Big fish under the cover of darkness will come in closer to shore in shallower water. Use this to your advantage and fish during these hours. Use big eels, larger plugs and lures to attract the bigger fish. This is where the better gear comes in. A big key is to watch the successful fisherman and see how they go about it. Most of all put in your time. Good luck and if you have some specific questions don't hesitate to ask.

striper addict
04-24-2006, 10:47 AM
thanx for the encoragement... went to norwich harbor yesterday and caught a few holdover schoolies... avg. aprox 18" ..... got very rain soaked and got my fix ... used zoom arkansas shiner .. most fish up high in the water

Raven
04-24-2006, 10:53 AM
WELCOME to S-B

is that the zoom bait with the reflective foil on the inside or no?