View Full Version : sluggo from shore question

MrHunters
05-12-2006, 06:30 PM
I've never used sluggos before (i know i know) keep in mind this is only my third season, first was exclusive tube n worm and second was plugs and herring... Anywho... 9" light colored sluggo, do you tie a weight to it or leave as is? Any tips would be greatly appreciated :)

happy weekend!

MrHunters
05-12-2006, 06:32 PM
errr... maybe shoulda checked the howto's :)

stiff tip
05-12-2006, 06:40 PM
no weight ,,quick jerk and tip movement works best 4 me ....almost any way goes,,,,rite color slugo is a big plus

MrHunters
05-12-2006, 07:13 PM
just read that the white seems to be most successful for that particular feller... is there a strategy for time of day and color?

also... i have a package of 10' fin-s kinda herring looking things... but same manufacturer as sluggo's... any luck with those?
http://shop.oysterbaytackle.com/images/FIN7.JPG

labrax
05-12-2006, 07:36 PM
I like the Arkansas shiner color in the 6" variety with a 1/2oz leadhead on 8' rod (1/2 - 2oz). Also use black and white and blue over white with good success. Lighter colors in the day and darker at night. Just picked up some 7.5" white sluggos to use this year.

Have used the larger 9" size too - white, blue/white and black. Used to just use them with 1.5oz jig heads, but last year rigged some up with double hooks and the cut-off nails for weight (OTW article by Steve McKenna) and they worked very well.

Have used the big Fin-S-Fish too. I like the Sluggos better, but they work too.

Seems to be a few more soft plastics out this spring to compete against the sluggo - I picked up one of the alternatives last weekend and am eager to try them out.

MrHunters
05-12-2006, 07:41 PM
first time out tomorrow...eager to try out my new spot

Nebe
05-12-2006, 08:25 PM