View Full Version : Need a Bump

partsjay
07-12-2006, 08:21 PM
Can one of you guys....search a link for through drilling please.....my computer is a wreck....dying slowly a little at a time....so now I can't search for some reason....I think there was a thread or a how-to before....but I can't search.....if I ruin 1 more body...I'm going to lose my mind!! Thank You!! Jay

Slipknot
07-12-2006, 08:47 PM
r u using the good bits that Mike sells?

drill before turning if it's that bad for you

partsjay
07-12-2006, 08:53 PM
I use good Dewalt bits to start......didn't know I could drill first...I thought the wood may shatter...I may have to try that. Thanks Slip. Jay

partsjay
07-12-2006, 08:57 PM
drill before turning if it's that bad for you

I probably mess up 2-3 out of 10 say......don't know if thats common or not, but I think it sucks....just aggrevating, I'm still fairly new to this..and when I get a body just the way I want it....and then screw it up drilling...makes me mad....thanks again for the help...Jay

Slipknot
07-12-2006, 09:01 PM
I do my thru drilling on the lathe
chuck the bit in the headstock and start with a short bit. I slide the plug and the tailstock all at once into the bit clearing the chips often.

ProfessorM
07-13-2006, 07:55 AM