View Full Version : So, I got a spool of spiderwire

striprman
09-21-2006, 06:22 PM
and i'm going to set it up on a 12 foot spinning rod with a penn captiva 8000.
Says on the package:
wont cut rod guides
reduced backlashes, whip knotting
resists "digging in" on reel
teflon treated microfibers
quiet
smooth casting
teflon treated superbraid

stuff is dark green.

So, how do I set up my reel. I was thinking about using about 20 yards of 25 pound test mono backing, connected with uni-to-uni knots to a 20 foot or so piece of 40 or 50 pound mono (uni-to uni) for a shock leader.

Any other suggestions for putting this kind of line on ?
Will I need a finger protector ?

Spiderwire stealth 300 yards, 50 pound test.

Rappin Mikey
09-21-2006, 07:05 PM
Sounds good, I use electrical tape.

CAL
09-21-2006, 07:26 PM
You won't need any finger protection with the 50#. I've been using it for three years and no problems with cuts.

As far as the uni knots, I found that the knot slips with Spiderwire. I'd swear I was tying it right, but I don't know. After a bunch of lost plugs I gave up and went palomar to swivel. No more slippage but it obviously limits the length of my leader.

harritchate
09-21-2006, 07:53 PM
definately palomar to swivel... i have had limited sucess with uni-uni and blood knots working but the stealth is just too slippery

libassboy
09-21-2006, 07:59 PM
Palomar is the way to go..will not slip and very easy to tie in the dark

Mike P
09-21-2006, 08:12 PM
You might want to use a finger protector if you're throwing bait with a sinker of 5 oz or more, and using a spinning reel.

You don't need anything protecting your leveling thumb if fishing conventional. Stealth is pretty smooth finished.

striprman
09-21-2006, 09:14 PM