View Full Version : Reel Question...

ripitsik
10-11-2006, 10:56 AM
Have any of you guys had experiences with a TICA Dolphin? Do any of you guys own one. I looked them up online and they seem like good reels.. I am in the process of buying a new reel and I am looking for some feedback.

Bronko
10-11-2006, 11:10 AM
I honestly think if you are in or around the $100 price range you can't go wrong with the Shimano Spheros 8000. I have been using these almost exclusively for a couple of years. They are tough, sturdy and have a great drag system, for the $$ I don't think you can do any better. I just rinse them off with fresh water and put them away. Every now and then I break them down and give them a good lube/cleaning. I can't say enough good things about them.

Others may chime in... a lot of guys I know use them.:grins:

Sluggoslinger
10-11-2006, 11:14 AM
My Penn 6500SS hasn't been bad either but when I've used the Shimano's, I've liked them allot.

Peter, did you get out of the car this AM or just enjoy the view? I got one but it was a long walk and they took off right after that. It seemed like a boaters morning out there.

BigBo
10-11-2006, 11:18 AM
Do yourself a favor and get the Spheros. It's a lot of bang for the buck. My experience with Tica's was lots of corrosion.:realmad:
The Spheros also has the waterproof drag.:smokin:

ripitsik
10-11-2006, 11:19 AM
Yeah I was lookin at the sphero and stradic for other reels that I was interested in. I just wanna lay out my options and get the best reel. I had a hard time trying to cast as far as I wanted this year and I am trying to upgrade my gear so I dont have that problem in the future.

leptar
10-11-2006, 11:39 AM