View Full Version : New Reel Advice

ChiefLinesider
11-06-2006, 11:23 PM
I'm sure some people have seen this post title more than they'd like to...but....

I have had my mind set on buying a VS200 for the past year or so. Saved up the money but Ive recently read alot of situations where the case starts to leak oil:eek: .

Is this something that happens to the pre-zebco reels?
Do I need to keep the warranty valid and send it back each year? Is it worth investing the $50+ year?

Any other reel suggestions? First hand experiences?

Any information would be appreciated.... Relative newbie here to the site

Bronko
11-07-2006, 08:30 AM
I'd be interested in this as well. I think a VS 200 will be on my plate this holiday season. Anyone? Pete from SWE? Anybody... Buelher...Buelher...:tooth:

JohnR
11-07-2006, 09:42 AM
I have not had my 250 long enough (2 years though it is an early model) (or sent it in for service) but they do use O-Rings to seal various places and O-rings do fail, right? Could it be a service issue?

nightprowler
11-07-2006, 09:55 AM
i bought a 250 used at the beg of the summer that was leaking oil, sent it in and it hasn't leaked oil all year....although there is a white grease that started leaking from the main shaft where the spool sits.:huh:
needless to say its going back in a few weeks when i hang em up

chief10
11-07-2006, 10:03 AM
send it back every year. if you don't VS will charge you to re-apply the warranty.

rockyroady
11-07-2006, 10:04 AM
So what's the deal if you find a used vs and send it in for yearly/first service? Do they wack you for a crazy first time fee thaen x amount every year after?

tattoobob
11-07-2006, 10:10 AM
I have a low number VS200 and haven't had a problem with it leaking oil,
I wasn't charged anything except the 36.95 for the service, and as long as you send it back once a year fromm when you bought it everything should be covered, even used reels.