View Full Version : Help..I havent caught a thing -RI Fishing

JJP
06-27-2002, 03:49 PM
Hey guys, i am new to this forum and i suck this year. Not One Bass over 15inches Yet. I have a buddy going out with me Sunday and i am nervous. I ususally fish Prudence Is. or troll Beavertail. I tube and worm when i troll and generally use some Fin-S soft bodies to cast. The furthest i generally go is Beavertail or a few miles from that, has anyone had any luck and could help me so dont get skunked.

Homerun04
06-27-2002, 04:39 PM
I'm no expert (that's for sure), but they tell me to troll tube and worm VERY slowly off the bottom for the best results.

I, too, have been skunked more times then not this year. Live bait (herring and pollack up north) have worked best for me so far.

Hope that helps...

JohnR
06-27-2002, 07:39 PM
Get that tune and worm deep to. If you don't have a lead core setup, get one of those drail weights to get it down... If the tube is near the surface, you're lucj will get worse...

Have good charts of the area or a GPS/Plotter? Run the contour lines where it drops off from 20-30+ feet and from 30+, troll slow too...

Scotch Bonnet
06-27-2002, 08:30 PM
I work with a guy whose fished that area for years in a small boat. His method is simple - 2 hours before high tide til 2 hours after high tide he trolls the tube and worm in "close". He fishes the Mackeral Cove area. He has pretty consistant results (but also has alot of experience). Hope this helps, good luck!

BassmanN
06-28-2002, 08:03 AM
I have not done much with the tube yet....I think it is too early for the south bay, deep water. The fish are still in the upper bay...
Try the " cable crossing" - " black face" and other shallow spots around the island.
I can not become consistent with the tube until the mid to end of July. Of course that is just because of where I fish. I know others that have good luck around the island.

JJP
06-28-2002, 08:34 AM