View Full Version : Fireline ?

texican
02-22-2007, 06:53 PM
I have been using PP for the past two years and have had trouble with break offs so I am going to switch to fireline. The trouble I had with PP is it would break at the knot. At first I had 30lb test then moved up to 50lb test because I thought it was the knot strenght. But problem continued I started to notice that the knot(Crazy Alberto) connecting the PP to mono(shock leader) was getting stringy and fuzzy before I would launch my plugs to plugtopia. Sorry, about that I needed to vent:realmad: ! My question is do I need mono backing on my spinning reel and do I need a shock leader? And what knot is best. THANKS!

bassmaster
02-22-2007, 06:57 PM
palomar knot

Vogt
02-22-2007, 07:03 PM
Yes to mono backing, yes to mono or flouro leader(your choice), and fireline is very good with knots.

MAC
02-22-2007, 07:12 PM
I run a swivel between braid and mono leader. My opinion is a swivel is a must on spinning gear. If using conventional I forgo the swivel and tie direct. I only use a shocker if using heavy stuff on a conventional. The knot of choice for me is a uni to uni. a drop of zap a gap on the braid side helps a lot too.

On the backing; it depends on what reel I am putting braid on. A VS 250 will hold probably 100 bux worth of braid so mono backing out to the holes in spool is a must. but if using a daiwa emblem pro or similar reel I only put enough mono on spool to to cover the arbor.

EricM
02-22-2007, 11:35 PM
Yes to fireline. Yes to Palomar knot. Yes to mono backing. On the knot, I skip the glue, prefer to just pull down HARD with a glove.

texican
02-22-2007, 11:39 PM
Thanks for your imputs fellas an little bit helps:happy:

baldwin
02-23-2007, 09:04 AM