View Full Version : IS St. CROIX A GOOD ROD?

Backwater Guide
07-12-2002, 01:27 PM
I just bought a new 8' ST. Croix bait cast rod - med/heavy action. Will this hold up well to 30lb+ stripers? Has anyone had any experience with these rods?

saltydog
07-12-2002, 03:10 PM
should have came w/a LIFETIME WARRANTY!
"GOOD LUCK GOOD FISHIN":D

Slipknot
07-12-2002, 03:16 PM
They make good rods but I have no experience with that particular rod. I do have the 8' heavy conv. rod and I am not sure if it would subdue a 25 lb bass where I fish nevermind a 30+, and yours is a med/heavy.

Maybe if you fish a bay from a boat it would but not likely in a breachway or canal. Baitcaster might have one of those rods.
All I can say is try, and you'll find out :)

schoolie monster
07-12-2002, 03:24 PM
I think Slip is right... Baitcaster has this rod and I'm pretty sure John "had" that rod and he may have built a spinning rod off that blank as well.

I think John had some issues with decent fish in heavy current off the shore. I would think that outta the boat, it'd be fine.

Anyway, they should have some input.

My dad bought the med action 8-15lb 7' travel rod and it was great for alot of nice size schoolies to small keepers. Not alot of help to you, but it certainly was no wimpy rod.

chris L
07-12-2002, 04:22 PM
for the money they make a good rod . I have the 10'6 MH 3 to 6 oz bend over rod with aa Abu BG7000cl. I use it in the canal and breachways . I havent had any problems with big fish yet . But the largest I caught on it so far is only a 32 # at charlestown breachway !

jeffsod
07-12-2002, 07:12 PM
Well I personally witnessed a 7 foot st. croix tidemaster heavy action subdue a 18 and a half pound striper just last weekend from a boat. The new rod owner was quite pleased with the performance of the rod and the nice catch.

Mike P
07-12-2002, 09:43 PM