View Full Version : Are you crushed??

Rappin Mikey
03-09-2007, 07:55 AM
Just wondering how many people out there are fishing with crushed barbs? I started doing this a little more last year, especially from the kayak.

fishsmith
03-09-2007, 07:58 AM
no

vanstaal
03-09-2007, 08:01 AM
I was thinking about it still up in the air :uhoh: :uhoh:

daceman63
03-09-2007, 08:02 AM
never did it. I don't catch many so those I do hook I want to land. lol

2na
03-09-2007, 08:03 AM
You shoulda started before you drilled that treble into your thumb in the middle of the blitz 2 Junes ago -

I've been dremel-ing mine off for about 7-8 years now

JFigliuolo
03-09-2007, 08:05 AM
When fishing a bluefish blitz (which is not that often) yes.

Hunting bass, no way. I use one trebble hook and a siwash tail hook (to reduce foul hooking), so there is little damage done.

afterhours
03-09-2007, 08:10 AM
i always crush my barbs. go in fish easier- come out of fish easier- come out of me easier. i don't believe you'll loose fish if you play them well.....my .02

good2hook
03-09-2007, 08:24 AM
man, i don't think i could get past the fact of losing a 50lber. because of something i intentionally did to a hook, it's bad enough losing one to the unintentionals i do already. just my .02

daceman63
03-09-2007, 08:30 AM
It seems the barbs just work better. Can't argue with history or the need to catch and eat fish.

"As a general rule it appears that the most ancient hooks were made without barbs or any other refinement. The oldest hooks that have been found in Denmark and Norway indicate that only after thousands of years were they equipped with barbs, grooves, bulges or holes to facilitate attachment of the bait and line."

http://www.mustad.no/history/hook_history.html

BigFish
03-09-2007, 08:44 AM
Nope! I ain't gonna lose the fish of a lifetime.....I have no trouble with barbs and have no trouble unhooking fish in a timely fashion!

Slick Moedee
03-09-2007, 08:47 AM