View Full Version : hi new here just got new boat 2

mrmacey
07-23-2002, 04:26 AM
hi im new at boating and striper fishing i need any help with how to i dont know lingo so it kind of needs to be spelled out we all started somewhere im going to be putting boat in plymouth was down newport over week end didnt catch anything im very eager to learn i love fishing so im asking for help everywhere is learning about jigging the best way to go or is bait better and what kind do i use jigs,bait ,ect!!!!!! hope to see you out there thank you for any help!!!!!

JohnR
07-23-2002, 07:26 AM
What kind of boat do you have? Where do you live & fish? What kind of gear do you have?

GBOUTDOORS
07-23-2002, 11:23 AM
Like john asked what size and kind of boat? You said you were in Newport this weekend and are going to Plymouth this coming weekend so I take it you must trailer ? I am in the New Bedford area and would be glad to help you out in the area if you should wish to fish it. What is your home town? Right now cut bait is the best bet but if you like to troll there are plenty of good spots in the south coast area giving up fish at this time!

mrmacey
07-23-2002, 03:27 PM
thanks im new to this chat im trying to learn this too!!! well i have 20 ft seamaster 210ff i got one rod with penn senator reel assorted striper blues hooks ihave one butterfly trolling rig with 5 eels on it and 1 big squid lure with 2 hooks thats about it for now im not buying more till i find out whats the right stuff im going to be trailering it to plymouth its the closest to me i need to know basics on striper fishing never could catch one!!!!!!

fireguy
07-23-2002, 07:11 PM
I fish the Plymouth Harbor and Long Beach areas. I only use artificials. When I'm trolling I use 24" to 36 " 4 ounce weighted tube (orange or red) with 7" white forked tail pork rind. Occasionally, I will troll 3 or 4 ounce bucktail jigs again with pork rinds.