View Full Version : Interesting article about commercial fishing by trawling

DZ
05-15-2007, 12:31 PM
Read this very interesting NYT article today about trawlers and degradation of the marine environment. Recently there was a thread about what to do with Fluke bycatch in the trawling fishery. It is a very important issue by itself but I think the bigger issue is included in this article. Does this form of commercial harvest need to be addressed? I have nothing against responsible commercial harvest but it might be time to phase this method out and use another method. The attached photos are amazing.

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/05/15/science/15mud.html?_r=1&ref=science&oref=slogin

DZ

likwid
05-15-2007, 12:37 PM
It is a very important issue by itself but I think the bigger issue is included in this article.

Most won't see the bigger picture until they're standing in the unemployment line.

RIROCKHOUND
05-15-2007, 12:43 PM
DZ:

We took a look at this back when I was a rookie geologist using side-scan, so I was only doing the geology part, so my memory might be fuzzy on some of it..

Basically, the scars from the trawl doors is more persistent in muddy, low energy environments, in fact we had a hard time seeing ANY on hard sandy bottom near Whale rock. So as far as changing the bottom it works in that way. This was due to the sandy substrate being 'resurface' more frequently by waves and specifically tidal flow..

On a biologic scale though, the worst impacts were on gravel/hard bottom, where all the attached plant-type critters get mowed over...

Check the link below for some more info..

Bryan

http://seagrant.gso.uri.edu/fisheries/presentations/collie.pdf

MakoMike
05-15-2007, 01:09 PM