View Full Version : Mono vs Braid?

Squibby17
08-20-2007, 04:00 PM
Ok so I'm contemplating making the switch. I have fished Mono my entire life with decent success. I went bottom fishing (from a boat) the other week and tried power pro and was amazed at the feel and strength of the line. So my question is.

• Is braid only good for boats or do people use it surfcasting?

• If you get hung up on the bottom with braid is the lack of stretch good or bad?

• Do you use a fluro carbon leader with braid? and if so does it negate the feel of the braid.

I'm sure this has been discussed before so forgive me if we rehash.

Slipknot
08-20-2007, 04:22 PM
Yes we use braid surfcasting also.

that is good

myself, I use both a flouro leader and other times I use a mono leader, it doesn't effect the no stretch.

I have been using fireline for 15 years, I love it

tattoobob
08-20-2007, 04:46 PM
I can't use mono now that I use braid, I don't like the stretch that mono gives, I guess once you switch you will never go back

No need for florocarbon I just use mono for my leader

As long as your leader is less test than your main line hang ups
should not be a problem

MrHunters
08-20-2007, 04:50 PM
here's a new question that i havent seen for the mono vs braid debate.

are there any benefits using either or for either convench or spinning?

gone fishin
08-20-2007, 09:14 PM