View Full Version : finger protection

hunan
09-03-2002, 08:40 PM
what, if anything, do you non- mono using fisherpeople use to protect your digits from meltdown?

CowHunter
09-03-2002, 08:48 PM
I have been using braided lines since 1996 and when I first started my first applications with braid was 4-5 ounce bucktails with 30lb spiderwire. Now the problem was wading out, taking on waves, and having you're fingers wet. What happened was I started to tear the hell out of my fingers once they got soft. I had tried tape, finger guards, and crazy glue. Nothing really worked, I had to be in feel with the line. I went up to heavier lines without loosing much distance and haven't had that problem in years. Then agian its not everyday I throw heavy jigs. I have never torn my fingers up pluggin' or eelin' just in the situation described. I primarily use 65lb Whiplash on my spinning outfits and 80lb Whiplash on my conventional outfits....

good Luck

Slipknot
09-03-2002, 10:01 PM
I jig the canal with 65 lb whiplash on a spinner using 4-5 oz jigs and have good luck with one of those Breakaway Cannon release triggers. I use it plugging with 3 oz and up plugs too. I have tried those rubber finger cots also but I love the cannon, it really does increase my distance. And never have to worry about slicing my finger open in case I snag a bush behind me or something.

jettyjockey18
09-04-2002, 07:10 AM
back in mid june i sliced my finger wide open down the canal when my plug hung up on some brush during the back swing...i've also tried tape and other finger protectors...finally bought the breakaway cannon and voila, no more problems...

the cannon is well worth the 20 bucks...takes about 10-15 casts to get the rythym down before your comfortable enough to let'er rip...

hunan
09-04-2002, 05:38 PM