View Full Version : "Chef" Question?

BigFish
11-21-2007, 09:34 PM
My wife and I watch that "Kitchen Nightmares" show with Chef Gordon Ramsay. I have a question for anyone who might know......to be a "Chef"...."Executive Chef"...etc.....don't these titles require some formal training or a degree???? I thought that was how one earns the title of a "Chef"??? Otherwise aren't they just a shortorder cook or a cook????:huh:

A A L
11-21-2007, 09:43 PM
Hello,
You are correct. Usually to become a chef or executive chef you would need some kind of formal training. Usually a combination of extensive work experience, and some kind of culinary school degree or certificate. I am a chef, I trained for many years and attended school, but these days you can find a lot of people that are self proclaimed chefs

I have a question. I have read some threads in the plug building furum, and noticed you talk a lot there. I am new to plug building and just bought some createx paint and an airbrush. Do you know how much you are supposed to thin the paint before use. thanks

luds
11-21-2007, 09:47 PM
My wife and I watch that "Kitchen Nightmares" show with Chef Gordon Ramsay. I have a question for anyone who might know......to be a "Chef"...."Executive Chef"...etc.....don't these titles require some formal training or a degree???? I thought that was how one earns the title of a "Chef"??? Otherwise aren't they just a shortorder cook or a cook????:huh:

BF,
I was going to start a thread about this show. Me and the other half watch it too. Good stuff.

GREEN MEAT KILLS PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!!

BigFish
11-21-2007, 10:06 PM