View Full Version : How Much Oil Do You Burn In A Typical Winter Season??

BigFish
01-02-2008, 10:37 PM
I consider myself fortunate that over the past 3 winters I have not had to pay a penny for oil to heat the house as I got enough from my former business to keep me warm....but those days are over and after this winter I will be paying for it as that business is over! However I feel fortunate that my house only burns about 1 1/4 to 1 1/2 tanks (325-350 gallons) of oil in a typical winter season by my calculations! Thats not too bad! Just curious how much others typically go thru in a winter???

Slingah
01-02-2008, 11:32 PM
we use about 275-300 gallons plus burn about 1 cord of wood....

Raven
01-03-2008, 04:57 AM
it's an unknown thus far....as it's my first year here..

to answer tho , i will always say.... as least as possible...

next winter i plan to have stacks of wood everywhere
enough for two winters...

and keep the oil burning mainly to heat hot water...

the whole back of the house is perfect for solar heating systems
and that will be my heating weapon of choice in the future.

it's 5 am and 2 about degrees outside
and i'm headed out to the barn to scrounge up a box of wood .:nopain:

fishpoopoo
01-03-2008, 08:09 AM
the "average" new england home burns 1,100 gallons a year for heat and hot water.

the average new-york area home burns 1,000 gallons a year.

the average mid-atlantic (s. new jersey/de/md/dc/va) burns about 900 gallons a year.

thortum
01-03-2008, 08:38 AM
the "average" new england home burns 1,100 gallons a year for heat and hot water.

the average new-york area home burns 1,000 gallons a year.

the average mid-atlantic (s. new jersey/de/md/dc/va) burns about 900 gallons a year.
Yeah. That's right on the money at my house. At $3.25 gal. [yesterday] I have to decide whether to eat or stay warm!!! :hang:

Joe
01-03-2008, 08:59 AM
About $3000.00 worth

HESH2
01-03-2008, 09:28 AM