View Full Version : Starter reel recommendations

Motor Fish
01-06-2008, 04:48 PM
Hi everyone,

One of my goals for this year is to really use and become much more proficient with my fly fishing gear. I've had a small trout setup for a few years now, but haven't used it much.

I got a nice 8wt rod for Christmas and need a reel a relatively good quality reel to match. Nothing too extravagant, I'm a beginner and don't want to break the bank on a real (yet).

Any recommendations? I know nothing when it comes to fly fishing.

Thanks!

-Rich

CaptMike
01-07-2008, 10:34 AM
I'm a fan of the rocky mountain large arbor from orvis. It doesn't have the best drag in the world but it does the job reliably. For a few bucks more you can get the battenkill mid arbor which has a great drag. Also you may want to look at a few of cabela's offerings. They're good reels for the money for the most part. The most important thing in my opinion is to find a mid or large arbor reel. You'll appreciate the extra backing/retrieve speed when you tie into a fast, strong fish like a big blue or a bonito.

5 String Bass
01-22-2008, 11:13 AM
I'm in the same boat. I've been learning on a 6wt combo thats more than adaquate for trout and panfish, but want to build a setup for salt on the cheap. So far, I'm liking the Pleuger Summit for under 100.00 reels. Okuma has the Integrity, but I would go with the summit, as it is anodized aluminum and looks cool ;)
Rumour has it that llbean is having a mad sale in stores only. you might score a deal there.

5 String Bass
01-24-2008, 07:57 PM
I picked up a10 wt. streamlight for under 60.00- not bad, as it is 175 online. It's a 4 pc with mod-fast action w/case.
If you go there, ask about the inventory sale. The sale ended Monday, but if you ask, you can find out if the item is still 30% off of the "red pen" mark down. This only applied to items that were already onsale.
:bgi:

falkners
02-15-2008, 04:27 PM