View Full Version : computer question

Nebe
02-16-2008, 08:25 PM
I make stuff for a living and to optimize productivity, i have to make production lists. I do it the old school way.. Large calenders and write it all out.

how can i do this on my computer?

I have a lot of orders for 2 products in 3 styles with 4 color options..

is this something that I would do in a spreadsheet program??

RIROCKHOUND
02-17-2008, 11:20 AM
You could just do excel, it's the easiest spreadsheet.
OR try google calender. it will email you reminders, so you could enter the orders in and have them emailed the day before...
glad to see that the show went well?

talk later

Nebe
02-17-2008, 07:25 PM
Hound i am still down here... I have one more day, but yeah, the shows doing good..

stripersnipr
02-17-2008, 08:09 PM
Outlook calendar may work for you.

timf
02-18-2008, 02:37 AM
Nebe,

I take it that you want to organize the building of items based on certain criteria (ex. type, color, size). The best way to do it is to setup excel with columns that contain columns for each criteria along with a column for order number. You can then sort the list based on how you make things. Drop me a pm if you want more info or want help building the spreadsheet.

t

spence
02-18-2008, 07:55 AM
Nebe,

It would be helpful to understand your business drivers, production and sales objectives and impediments that most impact productivity.

Once we've established a baseline, we can look for ways to optimize your process focusing on the high priority areas that will have the most business impact.

Excel may be a good tool, but if it doesn't help you fix the problems then it's just another way to write stuff down.

-spence

RIROCKHOUND
02-18-2008, 08:25 AM
Excel may be a good tool, but if it doesn't help you fix the problems then it's just another way to write stuff down.
-spence

Nebe, good to hear it's going well.. throwing a new 'light' on lots of situations I hope.
check in when you get back.