View Full Version : New hip in July , Maybe fish in Sept?

Saltheart
05-09-2008, 03:04 PM
I signed up to have my hip done (replaced) in early july. From what I am told , I could be fishing by Sept. Would be nice to land a few later this season and it will definitely be nice to be able to sit , stand up and lie down without the pain.

Going to a guy who uses some new computer alignment technique that is supposed to double the life expectancy of the artificial joint. From what he says , despite me being only 55 , he thinks the new hip should last a life time. I hope so , don't want to go through it again at 75!

justplugit
05-09-2008, 04:08 PM
Good luck, SH. The people who i know that have had the replacement, have done very well. :)

BigBo
05-09-2008, 05:25 PM
Good luck Mike. I've been putting off my knee replacement for a few years now. I'm afraid it won't be much longer.

Squid kids Dad
05-09-2008, 08:33 PM
Good luck for a quick recovery:kewl:

whiplash
05-11-2008, 06:41 PM
Had mine done 3 years(@ 51) ago after dragging a dead leg behind me for way too many years . I was bone on bone after a very long death march in SW RI. I'm sure you know the one. I had it done at the Baptist in Boston. I had the BFH Big Femor Head varity . It allows for the best rotation and flexibility. I can send you the name of the group I used in Brookline.The Docs were fantastic and the Baptist is the place to go for any joint work. It is a life changing procedure. Really if your insurance will cover these guys you should do it. I had 2 other procedures on my hip ( due to a motorcycle accident when I was 21)and I'm glad I waited for the current technology. I had the procedure on Jan 19th and in 2 weeks I was back at work ( granted a desk job ) but by March I was back hiking with the Boy Scouts. Don't settle for the ceramic golf ball !!! Do it right or don't do it at all!!! PM me if you want.

Saltheart
05-12-2008, 08:11 AM