View Full Version : dunkin conventionals....

decksweeper
09-03-2008, 10:06 AM
So the wetsuit thing seems to be in full force for many including myself. I've been using a "dunkable" spinning real, but looking to use a conventional with the wetsuit. I've got a 965, calcutta, the abu's....but don't think they're made to swim with. What are you conventional wetsuiters using?
thanks,
-Mark

RNC
09-03-2008, 10:37 AM
Van Staal 250:hihi:

decksweeper
09-03-2008, 10:56 AM
I'm a fan of the VS reels...typically fish the 200....but want to mix it up some and am looking for some info on the best conv...

JFigliuolo
09-03-2008, 11:35 AM
I'm far from an expert... But I THINK they aren't the best for dunking. Check w/numbskull. I know he wetsuits AND fishes convench. Not sure if he does both at the same time though.

redlite
09-03-2008, 11:43 AM
Why in the world would you ever even get the smart idea to wet suit with a conventional? Its a mo fo just gettin washed off rocks with a VS, never mind when you're tryin to pick a back lash out of your real while treading water and the guy next to you is bailin fish. The under study Maximilius swims with a coffee grinder Newell that he bought from Habs the day before he passed away (got SICK MOJO with it), has caught some good fish on it, but still has his fair share of backlash issues and the kid is a Jedi with conventionals and still has unneeded headaches with the thing and he NEVER dunks it. Stick to the right tool for the job. Skip the nostalgic BS.
Sorry. Is there some Captains in you?:eyes:

JFigliuolo
09-03-2008, 11:46 AM
I think Mark is having too good of a season. He needs more of a challenge so we mere mortals don't look too bad...:bshake:

decksweeper
09-03-2008, 12:22 PM
Joe, we're in very good company here so I always feel like a mere mortal regardless. I don't think anyone can say that their year is TOO good, but it has been my best year so far in the 5 or so years of fishing the surf.

tynan19
09-03-2008, 02:21 PM