View Full Version : Canal comment and Question

JamesJet
09-22-2008, 09:58 PM
I'll start off saying I am new to the CCC game but over the past two years I have tried to fish it when I can and try different things. I fished last night from 730 till about 11 at a mid canal location. The end of the west tide (from Scusset to Maritime?) had fish active on top and then it died at slack. On change in the tide I did not notice anything top and changed area. I jigged a 3 oz black RonZ in a rip that had never produced for me but always looked soooo good. Wham! I was on to what felt like my biggest canal fish ever as my Canal PB was about 36 inches. By the time I get it in I realize it was a large bluefish somewhere over 10 lbs for sure. I ended it on that note and headed to the car as I had work today. It is really satisfying when you really feel like your jig finally is doing what you want it to and you really have a feel for it.

My question is when the bass are slurping at night what do you throw??
I had moderate success with a 6 inch soft plastic but not what I thought I should have given the activity.

rickhern
09-22-2008, 11:38 PM
Try a 6" bomber or small rebel and fish it SLOWWWWWW(like just about dead drifting!) It is tough to reel that slow, but when you get the hang of it, you will start catching. Color doesn't seem to matter much as long as it's wonderbread.

Rob Rockcrawler
09-23-2008, 07:37 AM
If they are slurping i like to drift eels, actually i like to do it all the time slurping or not.

CanalGuy
09-23-2008, 05:14 PM
Pogies! :humpty:

Slipknot
09-24-2008, 09:23 AM
try swimming a Point Jude tin for those times
the hits will be wicked

zimmy
09-24-2008, 09:30 AM
if they are on top, they are of often underneath, so I at least give jigs and plastics a good try. If they are in close enough a red fin, slugo or something like that...

bssb
09-24-2008, 12:00 PM