View Full Version : Radon Testing

luds
10-21-2008, 03:03 PM
Any radon experts on this site? I have a home inspection on Saturday and was debating whether or not to have them do one. Based on the the public info available on-line it looks like I should.

Opinions would be appreciated.

Yes, I enjoy putting my life in the hands of my fellow fishing board members.

-Luds

The Dad Fisherman
10-21-2008, 03:04 PM
How much do they charge?....if its outrageous you can pick up a kit and do it yourself

Clogston29
10-21-2008, 03:05 PM
it'll probably come back negative and be a waste of money, but get it. it could cost you a ton if you don't.

Nebe
10-21-2008, 03:06 PM
are you buying or selling a house? If your buying a house, YES get that checked out. If your selling, you are legally bound to disclose the results..

I am not an expert though. :D

luds
10-21-2008, 03:06 PM
How much do they charge?....if its outrageous you can pick up a kit and do it yourself

Probably makes sense since I have to pick it up myself anyway. The inspection company gets $175 for it.

Clogston29
10-21-2008, 03:07 PM
looks like you can get one for under $20

The Dad Fisherman
10-21-2008, 03:08 PM
Probably makes sense since I have to pick it up myself anyway. The inspection company gets $175 for it.

Sounds like IT consulting...

here's a link to a kit...cost $40 and includes the lab fee for reading it.

http://www.homestoreproducts.com/cart/index.html?target=Radon_Gas.html&mid=RADONTESTKIT

UserRemoved1
10-21-2008, 03:09 PM
what he said. ALWAYS

it'll probably come back negative and be a waste of money, but get it. it could cost you a ton if you don't.

fishbones
10-21-2008, 03:09 PM
It's worth it for your peace of mind. When you consider all of the other nickel and dime costs when going through the home buying process, you won't even notice it. Which town did you decide on?

luds
10-21-2008, 03:13 PM