View Full Version : whats the difference lead line /wire

mrmacey
12-08-2002, 07:31 PM
i want a rod and reel combo for bigger fish this spring i want to troll alot what kind of set up do you need for tuna how much line should the reel handle and at what lb! what can i expect to pay for a decent reel! i have my 113h for bottom fishing but that has 40lb on it and not much yardage i understand a tuna will take your line quick so you need more and heavier lb test some names of reels that can handle this with out breaking the bank would be appreciated

12-09-2002, 08:09 AM
I have a pair of Shimano TLD-25's filled with 50lb mono, and 80lb leaders. I think these would be ok for the Tuna, actually you might get away with your Penn 113's spooled with 40lb. I am no expert on Tuna's though, still looking for the first one in my boat.

JohnR
12-09-2002, 08:17 AM
Mr Macey - no expert here either but you would be best using mono or a braid on the tuna and leaving lead-core and steel to get to the bottom for bass...

mrmacey
12-11-2002, 11:26 AM
a penn mariner or 114h or hlw let me explain the situation wife says nothing over 250.00 for x mas so i want the best combo i can find was wondering if m and d could put something together for me i see on the internet reels for all different prices but i would rather cash and carry so far west marine has what im looking for any advise on the best deals even refurbished reels would be good probably get something better refurbished im looking for something that can handle big fish!!!!

JohnR
12-11-2002, 11:38 AM
Mr Macey - e-mail him miket@capecodtackle.com and mention that you are a member here - He may even have some quality used stuff too... As for his prices - he usually has the best prices on average...

mrmacey
12-11-2002, 11:40 AM
i was just looking at his website he has everything im looking for wonder if hes open during winter ill take a ride today and talk with him

JohnR
12-11-2002, 11:46 AM