View Full Version : 104.1 WBCN

tattoobob
07-14-2009, 05:37 PM
Is going off the air, and Mix is taking it's spot on the dial

and a new sports station is going to take Mix's place

this totally sucks, I have been listening to that station for 40 years now, and it is going away

tattoobob
07-14-2009, 05:39 PM
WBCN signs off air in CBS Boston radio shakeup
34 minutes ago
BOSTON (AP) — A major shakeup on the Boston radio dial is marking the end of an era for one of the nation's first progressive rock stations, which helped launch U2 and other prominent artists.
Owner CBS announced Tuesday that WBCN-FM will move its programming to the Internet and HD Radio as part of a shakeup that also brings Boston's first FM all-sports station on Aug. 13.
WBCN began playing underground rock in 1968. It evolved into a more mainstream, album-oriented rock format.
The new 98.5 The Sports Hub will air sports talk shows and play-by-play of the New England Patriots and Boston Bruins. The Patriots most recently were heard on WBCN. The Bruins have been airing on CBS-owned WBZ-AM.
CBS also is moving its "Hot AC" station, WBMX, from the 98.5 FM spot to WBCN's old position at 104.1.

JohnR
07-14-2009, 06:39 PM
Was an avid listener for years, stopped listening one week into Howard Stern. Surprised it took this long...

Dwayne Ingals Glasscock

Raider Ronnie
07-14-2009, 06:59 PM
Was an avid listener for years, stopped listening one week into Howard Stern. Surprised it took this long...

Dwayne Ingals Glasscock

Same here !
Listened to BCN from high school days starting around late 1970s (WCOZ also )
Eventually I switched over to WZLX and now listen to Oldies also.
I enjoyed when Howard Stern was on at night 7:00 pm
Dwayne was a riot !
Rangooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnn

Backbeach Jake
07-14-2009, 08:58 PM
Ever been phoned up in Mass for being a lucky wise guy?
Good bye Rock of Boston .....

ProfessorM
07-14-2009, 09:00 PM