View Full Version : Minor details I can't seem to find

Zeal
11-22-2009, 02:55 PM
Hello all, I haven't been a "registered member" but I have been a visitor many times to these forums. After scouring the internet in conjunction to this site researching the process of plug creation, there are a few specifics that seem to be eluding me (obviously I am new to this and I always research first as much as possible before I do anything).

1. I am only looking to make darters, metal lipped swimmers, and jointed swimmers (and possibly eels), I have plenty of poppers and fish from the beach, what is the best wood to use for these? In my research I have read Birch, Fir, Maple, Walnut, Ash, Oak, and Hickory are used. I aim to fish the middle and bottom of the water column.

2. Is there any wood type that does not require being loaded with lead in order to be cast a good distance? Or does the lead also improve the action of the lure to the point where it could be the difference between getting hits or not?

3. I know people swear by AYC and Cedar, etc. for poppers, but they must be loaded to do what I need them to do correct?

My goal is to have the lure, when it hits the water, suspend a few feet below the surface and stop sinking at a certain point so when i retrieve it stays in the middle zone or lower zone depending on the speed. I don't want to have it hit the water then just float and dive to the middle water column and only reach the bottom if I crank it hard. Depending on the lure design I may only use a treble hook in the tail and that's it (6 hooks in a pissed bluefish = bad time).

Yes I understand how the search function works, believe me if I have to ask the question then it is something I am just not seeing period and need it told to me.

Any help is appreciated.

ProfessorM
11-22-2009, 03:27 PM