View Full Version : canal jigging with spinning setup

JamesJet
07-25-2010, 07:01 PM
To start - I am no expert and really just trying to learn a little more about this whole game.

That said - When I started a few years ago I used to use heavy jigs and a conventional setup, with varied success. Lately I have been using lighter - 1.5-3 oz jigs on a 1205 in different spots and tides and have got a 1209 spinning for the heavy stuff.

My question is - with conventional I used to hit the clutch and let out line to continue the drift where possible and found that to be a good way to keep the jig on a good drift - eels worked like this too.

For those of you that use spinning to jig with do you not do this? For that matter - how many of you let out line either way-spinning or conventional?

Saltheart
07-25-2010, 09:14 PM
I use a conventional and certaunly do let out lots of line. I don't just let it run though. I'm controlling how fast the line gets let out to keep the jig bouncing on the bottom but not getting snagged. If you can just let line out without stopping and starting the free spooling , you are probably not close enough to the bottom.

People do the same with spinners. I'm sure some of the guys who use spinners will chime in. If not I'll tell you how they do it but its best if someone like Mike or Slip describes it to you as they do it all the time.

Slipknot
07-26-2010, 08:58 AM