View Full Version : Saltiga maintenance

zimmy
10-20-2010, 08:45 AM
This is my first year fishing a saltiga (z4500). Before I go messing with it, I would appreciate any advice as to what to do for maintenance. Best I just ship it into daiwa in the off season? What about day to day stuff? About the only thing I know is that it is no 706 so I don't wanna bugger it up. Thanks

by the way, it does get dunked and washed by surf at times

Slipknot
10-20-2010, 09:05 AM
If mine gets dunked and very wet, I rinse it with fresh water when i get home and maybe spray some wd40 on it too.

I have not sent either of mine in for service yet, nothing wrong with them.

I plan to send in my 6000gt this year though since I've fished it for 6 years or so and only oiled the line roller. Almost never rinse it since it gets most of it's use at the canal.

Andy Pon
10-20-2010, 12:16 PM
i recently got one of these too havent used enough to service yet. i've heard they go for 5 years without it.

Mike P
10-20-2010, 01:52 PM
I'd either take it to Bucko's, or send it to Daiwa for service--in about 2015 :rotf2:

zimmy
10-20-2010, 02:07 PM
I bought it used from someone who has frequented the site in the past. It was hardly used as far as I can tell, so I think I will continue to rinse and fish for a few more years. Maybe change the drag washers at some point. Problem with buying the 4500 is that I now am having trouble resisting getting rid of my e-pro and buying a 6500. Hopefully, when my handle upgrade shows up this week that will solve take care of that urge for awhile.

Mike P
10-20-2010, 04:11 PM