View Full Version : Ditch Jigging w/ Arra 1205

luds
11-29-2010, 12:43 PM
I'm hoping to try some jigging next year. Hopefully will get into it and go a bunch. The preferred rod for this seems to have been the AS 1209 and more recently the SC Mojo has gained popularity.

I have an unusually stout Arra1205. I have another of the same blank but for whatever reason this one seems much heavier. Probably produced at 2 different times.

Can i expect this rod to meet my jigging needs? Really don't want to buy another stick. I've thrown some heavy plugs to 5 oz. with it without any problem but up to what ounce jig can I expect to throw/work with a 1205? Anyone use the 1205 for this application?

JohnR
11-29-2010, 01:46 PM
I'm not a Ditch expert but I understand lots of 1205s are in use (and have been) for some time. Usually more conventional than spin but it is certainly strong & versatile enough to use there.

There may be better suited rods to use for specific purposes but a 1205 should be fine.

What color is the blank?

awall630
11-29-2010, 01:58 PM
I'm pretty sure they recently changed the rating of those blanks, so I could believe that one feels heavier than the other. Correct me if I am wrong. I did a little jigging with an ssu1201mh, the 1205 is similar and has a faster tip. Should make an alright all-around canal rod. It will throw 3 and 4 oz jigs if you need to, but I would say that its better suited for a canal plugging setup obviously. A rod suited for both will mean a slight compromise on both ends.

luds
11-29-2010, 02:11 PM
No 2 Lami's I've ever owned have felt exactly the same but the difference between these two is greater. I am confident that they are both 1205 blanks. The newer blank is black and the older one is more of a burgandy.

Mike P
11-29-2010, 03:41 PM
I have never seen a black XRA blank. The newer ones are a darker burgundy than the originals, but they all should be some shade of brown or burgundy.