View Full Version : tomcod question.

goosefish
01-18-2011, 02:52 PM
When I was an oyster farmer (RI) we used to get tomcod in with our oyster gear. Beautiful looking fish. We'd see them more in the dead of winter. I don't think they leave the salt marsh but I have no idea where they go in the summer. Does anyone here go after them? I might write a little story about them. Clammer has to have a story about tommy cod.

Clammer
01-18-2011, 03:14 PM
I have quite a few But like SOOOOOOOOOOOOO many fisheries ............. BACK IN THE DAY ><><> :rotf2:

Her,s one ;

Middle of winter ...I took a friend to a place to winter fish / at the time I had a place to dug all the clamworms i wanted .so that was a big advantage .

we fished in the snow & we caught well / so well we just kept throwing them in the snow .

when we were done / we got whayever we were driving @ the time / threw them in a bucket / mixed in snow .. to my surprize they were still somewhat alive . they didn,t seen to have the endurance of tautog .

after a 1 hour ride we get back to his house .he said too many for me & he called his future mother-inlaw & asked if she wanted some fresh fish .

fresh fish to a old Italian / no brainer ,

I told him I would drop them off cuz she was on my way ////////////////// I knocked on the door / she answered 7 was thrilled / I asked where I caould put tjem for her ..........she said[ oh just in the sink]

weeeeeeeeeeel went I did they were still alive / I turned the cold water on & they started to swim . cool / now I have a sink of swimming tomcod .....she sees it & goes nuts .starts yelling 2 me in Italian / I have no dead what she was saying but I told her I couldn,t kill these poor little fish & ran out the door .

a few hours later I get a call from my friend / he pissed /but laughing ...........ya know he had to go over & take care of business ;;;:uhuh::uhuh:

flyvice11787
01-18-2011, 03:20 PM
I miss tommycod. Haven't caught 1 in close to 20 years :(.