View Full Version : eeling stick...

Bliz
04-04-2003, 08:32 AM
I'm new to fishing with eels and I have an older lamiglas which is about 11 1/2' long - Model No. SB1363M.

I was wondering if this would be a good rod to use?...

I'm hoping to put together a decent setup exclusively for eeling at night on the surf...

Also, are there any good recommendations for a good spinning reel to best fit this monster of a rod?...

I mostly fish conventional, so I'm pretty white behind the ears when it comes to spinning gear...

I'm looking for something decent, but not too expensive to start out...

Any suggestions?...

fishsmith
04-04-2003, 08:47 AM
I like penn reels, and for around $100 I think a 6500ss or for less $$ a 5500ss will do. The rod might get heavy after a while, but for just starting out, I think you'll be all set.

Joe
04-04-2003, 09:10 AM
Most eel fishermen like 9 ft rods.
I had a 9ft rod, medium action Lami made recently for eeling. I have not used it yet. Mine cost $200, custom made.
I have no idea of the action for your Lami, but it sounds like a chunking stick capable of throwing a bank sinker and big hunk of bait. Saltheart would be the guy to ask...

JohnR
04-04-2003, 09:23 AM
Don - that rod sounds like overkill for eels. I would recommend a 9 footer as a primary eel stick. Something from the more inexpensive 1088 Batson to the more money Lami's, All Stars, St Croix and Loomis rods. You want to be able to load the rod up to get as much distance on the launch as eels travel only so far before a giant invisble hand comes out and slaps them straight down to the water. Unlike big plugs and metals, there is no balistic arc in eel fishing :rollem: .

As for a rod, you want something durable, relativly light, and with sufficient capacity of line. A penn 6500SS is probably a good baseline for a reel. Others will use a Nautil, Daiwa... and so on.

fishsmith
04-04-2003, 09:28 AM
didn't some surf fisherman say "walk softly and carry a BIG stick"

Fishpart