View Full Version : Salmon River advice

JackK
02-01-2011, 10:48 AM
Might be going to Pulaski this weekend. Depends on the weather, the loot in my wallet, and a host of other factors.

Don't worry nebe, if I don't go I'm still down for plan B :devil2:

Never done it before... But definitely want to give it a shot. I'll probably be doing both fly and spin... Will start off with the fly, but I'm not very good at it, so I may switch to a noodle rod if I get insanely frustrated.

So, any advice? Techniques to use while fishing? Stuff to pack/gear to bring along? I'd be going with some people that know what they're doing, but I'm pretty much a goog at this kinda stuff...

*** Edit: Looks like the noodle rod I was going to use is broken, so will either be all fly or me taping a spinning reel to fly rod.

rizzo
02-01-2011, 11:49 AM
Tony O. and Casey gave me some good tips and background on the river before I went - def. key to do research and talk to some people who know whats going on. Heres a summary of my thoughts on pulaski after fishing it and doing pretty well there in the end.

1. There is a lot of junk info out there on steelhead fishing that river. Try to pick one style of fishing and focus on that until you start hammering fish. For me I focused on the noodle rod. All you need are some egg sacks, beads, a handful of different size and color nymphs in size 10-12. Def. test out the noodle rod to get a feel for how much pressure you can put on a fish and not break 5 lb test tippet - it suprised me. You can land fish to 15 pounds without moving from where you are standing except to land the fish onshore - thats how much pressure you can put on them.