View Full Version : suspicious breakoffs- clip related?

zimmy
05-16-2011, 09:12 AM
Preface- I am not making any definitive statement about a product or a conclusion about the cause of the phenomena discussed below :spam:

Last night I lost 2 northbars. The first one fell to a fish that was up on the edge of the rocks. I grabbed the 40lb big game leader, the fish thrashed (20-22lb fish), mono cut at the snap and off the fish went with my bdarter.

About an hour later, I was wading and casting in a different locale around hightide. My plug caught some weeds behind me. There was slight resistance as I cast forward. The plug went flying off (well about 20 feet in front of me into the current). I have had much worse snags without a break. The leader again was sliced right at the snap. It looks like a serrated knife went through it on an angle.

It could be bad mono, although the leaders were tied last week and the mono stored in a cabinet. However it is my first time using the TA clips and I wondered if the angled bend could slice the leader under sudden pressure from a thrash or snag. Anyone ever experience something similar? Weird

Jackbass
05-16-2011, 09:20 AM
I haven't had those problems with the TA clips yet? Sounds like the metal on the clip could have been a little jagged or something. Weird.
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

zimmy
05-16-2011, 09:23 AM
It was two different clips. It very well could be bad mono, bad karma, or strange coincidence.

Jackbass
05-16-2011, 09:47 AM
Maybe you got a bad batch? What kind of mono if it was Vanish I would blame the vanish

zimmy
05-16-2011, 10:08 AM
Berkeley big game. Never had a problem with it before.

chefchris401
05-16-2011, 10:32 AM
I've used those clips for two seasons now and never had that happen.

I'd check the edges of the clip, could have some burrs.

I use momoi or Andes leader material and never had any issues.

I love those Northbar darters!!!

Jackbass
05-16-2011, 10:41 AM