View Full Version : rod/reel help please

Embittered
07-01-2011, 09:02 PM
Hey im a beginner at this so any advice is appreciated.
I have a 9' rod 12-30lb line, 1oz-4oz would be the specs on the pole.
Now my question is, what would be a better reel choice for me? I have a sweet deal on a penn 950ss and one on a penn 704z. i usually fish surf or off my kayak and im usually chunking bunker but i want to start using plugs. im also open to any other recomnedations on reels that are around 100$ or less. :smash:

Pete F.
07-01-2011, 10:10 PM
Buy the 704
a spool of 20# ande
http://www.striped-bass.com/Stripertalk/stripertalk/71854-lure-recomendations.html
a few plugs from this list, better if we know where you fish.
Fish in one good spot a lot, till you what it takes to catch fish there. then extrapolate (build) on that.
Have fun

Embittered
07-01-2011, 11:17 PM
Would the 950ss be overkill for the rod?
Seeing as alot of people catch good size fish, lets say around 30-40lb mark. Would the 704z manage to haul in fish that size or would it be too much strain on the reel? Iv been reading around and it seems like a bunch of people use them but im not too sure if they do for stripers. The more i read on these reels the more i become overwhelmed with making a choice.

jimmy z
07-02-2011, 03:01 AM
That 950 is a big heavy reel. The 704z is a better choice. The z reel was always a work horse. Keep in mind, if you buy a used reel, it might not be in tip top order. There are many still around, and available part though.

bart
07-02-2011, 05:44 AM
you can't go wrong with a 704z. a true work horse. I have three and love them...

iamskippy
07-02-2011, 07:47 AM
for under 100 bucks i have found that a penn sargus 5000 is a beast, i had it on a 9' rod up till this year when i upgraded, i beat the heck out of them and they had not failed me.

piemma
07-02-2011, 04:46 PM