View Full Version : Gloucester Surf Casting....need advice!!

scooter
07-12-2011, 08:06 PM
Hello pro anglers,

I am an avid freshwater fisherman but I have very little experience with ocean fishing other than chartered offshore stuff. I have done a little surf casting in Mexico but never up in the northeast so I was hoping someone could help me out with what type of lures, where to fish, the best way to rig for stripers etc. This is the coolest forum I've come across and you all seem like a seasoned bunch so I thought I would give it a try.

I will be up in Gloucester, the first week of August with the family and since I was finally able to invite a buddy of mine that wants to fish too I convinced the wife to let me get a surfcaster rod and give it a go. I know the area fairly well as I have been vacationing there for the last 8 years but like I said I am a total novice so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Here are my questions (and I apologize if it's too much but I'm trying to gather as much info as possible so even if I get just a few answers I will be much better off and very appreciative!).

1.) Can I catch fish at Good Harbor Beach? (this is where I will be staying). A local guy once told me he laughs at the people surf casting there because there aren't any fish. Any truth to this? I also heard you can get stripers and blues over near the inlet at the end of the beach. I also heard that if I wade over to salt island and fish off the ocean side you can get stripers there. Is that true?

2.) If I try Bass Rocks do I really need Korkers or will I be ok with just a good pair of merrills? Where is a good spot up that way that won't be too dangerous? I heard many people have fallen in there.