View Full Version : Wet suiting and foot wear?

tattoobob
03-15-2012, 04:31 PM
I wear wool socks, Neoprene socks and wading boots, the question I have is the Neoprene socks fill with water is the supposed to happen if not what do you guys suggest I buy to stop this? I would rather not have water in my socks all night

FinS 32
03-15-2012, 04:52 PM
most neoprene socks do fill up, its how they keep you warm, just like a wetsuit. Now that said there are a few socks out there I believe NRS makes that are water proof and sealed at the opening of the sock. they seem to be the only ones i know of that keep you dry, but most others are made to take in water

FinS 32
03-15-2012, 05:01 PM
yep i just checked, NRS seal skin and hyrdo cuff lines are water proof. I have no experience with these, as i use the NRS wet socks. They keep me plenty warm

Pete F.
03-15-2012, 05:14 PM
I wear boots and neoprene socks. The socks get water in them. If the water is warm they get kinda stagnant.

bloocrab
03-15-2012, 05:39 PM
Bob, lose the wool socks and move up a size on your boots.
In wearing a wetsuit, I'm not sure there's ANY way you can keep water out. (dry-suit yes), but in a wetsuit, water will find a way, its supposed to...and unless you literally strangle your ankles, which even then, I still think you'll get you toes wet. With a tighter fit, as in a tighter boot, you won't get that sloshy feeling in your boot...

hope this helps

tattoobob
03-15-2012, 08:58 PM
Thanks for all the advice guys

GattaFish
03-15-2012, 10:15 PM
TB,,, I am experimenting with some new shoes this year. Will tell you all about it at Mass Bass
Posted from my iPhone/Mobile device

tattoobob
03-16-2012, 05:28 PM
Thanks Tom I'm counting the days, you better bring me a chair because we have alot to talk about.

Clogston29
03-17-2012, 07:46 AM
I like the korkers sneakers type. Ditch the wool socks and get some good fitting wet socks in 3 and 5 mm.

Green Light
03-17-2012, 10:19 PM