View Full Version : Striper Fishing 101 for Rookies

BassNewbie
04-17-2012, 09:25 AM
I'm a fly fishing guide on Utah's Provo River, but this is my first time visiting the East coast. I want to do some striper fishing while I'm here. Any good places close to Brockton? Are there any good opportunities from shore this time of year? Anyone wanna get together and show me the ropes? Any tips would be great! Thanks!

bucko
04-17-2012, 09:41 AM
Try checking in with the Bear's Den Fly shop in Taunton Ma. It is a bit early but some guy's are into fish (not me).

Enjoy your stay.

FishermanTim
04-17-2012, 10:39 AM
Will you be fly fishing or surf casting?
The smaller fish will be here (if not already) and the larger ones will be here soon enough, so here is ALWAYS the possibility of getting a stiper.

It's mostly a matter of when and where you go.

Good luck!

Moses
04-17-2012, 11:54 AM
Agree with Tim, when exactly are you looking to go? Now in a couple/few weeks, later this summer?

numbskull
04-17-2012, 12:27 PM
How long you here for?

PRBuzz
04-17-2012, 01:03 PM
Why near Brockton? Notice my signature file.

I brought a fly guy from Oregon out last year for stripers and blues....he seemed to like it!

BassNewbie
04-17-2012, 06:53 PM
Why near Brockton? Notice my signature file.

I brought a fly guy from Oregon out last year for stripers and blues....he seemed to like it!

Thanks everyone for the replies! I'm staying in Brockton and I have limited access to a vehicle. I arrived here two days ago, and I will be here for another week. I will be fly fishing, and I have no salt water experience. @PRBuzz, are you planning on fishing this week at all? Could I tag along?

MarshCappa
04-17-2012, 09:28 PM
Something smells fishy. Maybe I'm paranoid but be careful Phil.

niko
04-17-2012, 10:12 PM
you are paranoid cappa - just an out of town guy looking to catch a few fish. i've done it a half dozen times in other parts of the country

MarshCappa
04-18-2012, 06:26 AM